Hello There, Guest! Register

1 user browsing this thread: (0 members, and 1 guest).

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Friendliness and forgiving social anxiety/awkwardness
definus
Getting comfortable

Sex:

Rep Post

Friendliness and forgiving social anxiety/awkwardness
06-12-2022 7:08 PM

I'm socially awkward and have social anxiety in general. I'm looking for something that will help me get positive social feedback and help with my confidence.

My personality type is quiet, nervous and kind of cold at time. I'm not good at initiating conversations and being friendly with people. Agewise, I look around mid to late 20s.

What I'm looking for is:

1. Something that will have people overlook my awkwardness/social anxiety, in the sense that they won't be weirded out or avoid me or think I'm some social pariah if I'm awkward, nervous or not friendly around them.

2. Something that will have people coming up and being friendly to me, initiating conversations with me, being inviting and including me into things.

The usual social scenario for the mones will be if I'm in some new group (running, community services, board games, etc), meetup, a random bar crawl, etc where people don't really know each other and are trying to meet new people. I tend to not initiate conversations or people get bored of talking to me and talk to other people. It gets me nervous going into social situations where I don't know anyone and having the risk of ending up the weirdo that no one talks to in the group but this is the only way to make new friends as an adult. If I can go into these groups or meetups and start making friends and feeling included, it'll help with my confidence and social anxiety.