Hello There, Guest! Register

1 user browsing this thread: (0 members, and 1 guest).

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
The effect of music on anxiety, aggression, anger etc
dsouza

Sex: Male

Rep Post

The effect of music on anxiety, aggression, anger etc
05-20-2021 4:56 PM

People know I’m a musician and I have had a history of liking u2.

However, I have listened and become fans of dozens of other artists since my teens.

Today I was listening to G&R and I could swear my anxiety increased as did my aggression and I became short tempered.

Songs like Knocking on Heavens door, November Rain etc on a suped up stereo system in my car had me feeling like my 20’s. Easily worked up.

Is it me or the music? I felt my anxiety condition worsen so I popped a few pills.

YOUTUBE:

BANDCAMP:

05-20-2021 4:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mark-in-dallas
Nobody at all

Rep Post

RE: The effect of music on anxiety, aggression, anger etc
05-20-2021 10:39 PM

It is the music! Music can evoke emotions, anxiety, arousal and every feeling hidden in the deepest corners of our psyche. I hear certain songs from my childhood and I am transported back to an exact place and time, whether that be be a 12 year old kid riding my bike down Fulton Avenue again, or a 14 year old and ripping my YZ80 along a dirt track, or even that shy 16 year old kid with what would soon be his first real girlfriend sitting on his shoulders at a Ramones concert and trying to shield her from getting knocked around in a rowdy wave.

Music can be chicken noodle soup for the soul, gasoline poured on a fire, or anything in between, and whatever it happens to be at any given moment can vary from song to song, memory to memory and emotion to emotion.

And beyond that we do know that sound frequencies can alter the wave lengths our brains are operating at and level of consciousness.